Posted by: expectingamiracle | January 21, 2013

Almost 6 weeks

I decided to go back to my RE for the first bit of pregnancy.  I had my hcg and progesterone drawn (progesterone 33, hcg 255), then redrawn two days later 9hcg 611).  Everything looks good based on that, so I was happy.  Yes, I did feel bad going to the fertility clinic with my 3 year old and 1 year old.  I asked them if I should find a sitter and they said it was okay to bring them.  The first day no one was in the office but the second day there were several couples, but no one seemed too bothered.  My RE came in and recognized me (I looked like mom of the year with my unwashed hair, glasses on and my kids still both in their jammies at 9:30 a.m., but hey, we all woke up late and I trucked it over there so I could get results back the same day).  He asked if I was there to show off the kids or if I was coming back?  I told him I had a surprise pregnancy and he seemed pleased.  He also got to meet Michael.  He asked how old he was and when I said 17 months he said “Yes, I can see how this pregnancy is a surprise!”

I felt a little sick right around the time I found out and then suddenly just normal.  I started feeling tired pretty much immediately and now, one day shy of 6 weeks, I am pretty exhausted.  I started feeling queasy again yesterday.  My husband is a trooper.  I was supposed to go grocery shopping today, but I did a lot of cooking and cleaning this morning and then felt sick after naptime.  Since he is flying out of state for a few days for work, he pretty much insisted on going to the store for me and taking the little guy (he prefers to take the bigger one as he is an easier shopping companion) because he didn’t want me to overdo it.

One minute I will feel excited about a new baby and the next I feel overwhelmed and worried about adding another child to our family, especially when Michael is still so little.  I just try to keep reminding myself that I am pretty lucky that I am having a 3rd, which I didn’t know if that would ever happen, and we didn’t even have to try!  I feel like I should be enjoying every moment though, since it is our last pregnancy/baby and it’s hard to do that when it’s such a shock.  Also:  I pretty much hate the first trimester.  And I SO want to soak in those newborn days once baby gets here and I’m afraid it will all pass in a blur with the busyness of 3 young children.  Such is life, huh?

Leave a Reply

Categories

