Posted by: expectingamiracle | February 18, 2012

38 weeks

How far along?  38 weeks

Baby is the size of a:  watermelon

Total weight gain/loss:  up another 3 pounds at my last appt, yay for 3 lb in one week!  So that’s a total gain of 27.5.  I am pretty happy with that, maybe I will get up to 30!

Maternity clothes?  Yes

Sleep:  I still have insomnia at night.  I ditched the egg crate mattress (which was keeping my hips more comfy) because it’s just too hot.  The temp is set to 73 and yet I still feel so freaking hot!  This is foreign to me because I am usually pretty cold natured.

Best moment this week:   Last night I was watching a video on youtube on swaddling (wanted to brush up on the technique) and all of a sudden I could just see myself with my new baby and all of a sudden I felt READY  in a way that I haven’t until now.  :o)  I am not super anxious for him to come, but I will be happy when he does.

Movement:  He’s still moving plenty.

Food cravings/aversions:   nothing in particular, but I’ve been sick lately (more on that later)

Belly Button in or out? Out

What I miss:  Feeling well.  Ugh.  I am on day #5 of a cold (Matthew as well) and it SUCKS.  I really thought I’d be feeling better by now.  My main concern is wanting everyone in the house to be feeling good when baby arrives, so I guess I’m not *quite* ready for him until I can totally kick this cold.  Right now I’ve got stuffed up nose (and THAT certainly isn’t helping with sleep either, it’s horrible) and sore throat.  Matthew has a super runny nose and bad cough and has been as I said to David today “a bundle of misery”.  It could be worse, he’s just very whiny about everything because he doesn’t feel well and not sleeping near enough either.

What I am looking forward to:   Getting over this darn cold!  My mom coming soon and hopefully baby coming maybe just a liiiittle before his due date?  We’ll see!

Weekly Wisdom:   Houston.  Summer.  Pregnancy.   Alex, what are “3 things that should not be combined”?  Seriously!

Milestones:  2 weeks away from my due date.  Less than a week to the gestation I had Matthew at.

Symptoms:  Cold symptoms, blah.  Back hurts, hard to get in a comfy position sitting or laying down.  And did I mention I feel HOT?  Oh and right around when my cold first started (I didn’t think I was getting sick, I thought it was allergies), I had a day with quite a lot of Braxton Hicks after doing too much house cleaning.  I also think baby was posterior that day.  Anyway, I have been taking it more easy since then…I don’t want to take the chance of baby coming just yet!

Midwife visit a few days ago:  Everything is still going great.  My BP was up a little 124/70, but she said that’s likely because I’m not feeling well.  I was measuring 37.5, I think, so that was right on.  She said she still thinks baby is fairly small, 6ish pounds.  She also was feeling trying to figure out where he head was, it wasn’t lined quite up with my pelvis but more off to the right.  But after pushing around on him a little he did straighten his head back over towards the center.  I think he still has enough room to move around in there, even though I’m sure it’s more cramped.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

