Posted by: expectingamiracle | May 2, 2011

17 weeks (and first midwife visit)

How far along? 17 weeks

Baby is the size of a:  onion

Total weight gain/loss:  I was DOWN a half a pound from my last visit, so I’ve only gained 1.5 lb from pre-pregnancy

Maternity clothes?  Yes.  I can still wear one pair of regular jeans (they ride low) and some regular shirts if they are long enough

Sleep: Decent-ish.  Getting up to pee of course and I love my daily nap.

Best moment this week:  First midwife appointment!

Movement:  Yup, feeling it every day.  David has been traveling but I am pretty sure by now he can feel it from the outside so we need to try that soon.

Food cravings/aversions:   Cheese and fruit.  My craving for juice seems to have lessened somewhat.

Belly Button in or out? It is out but not poking enough that I get a belly button bump through my shirts.

What I miss:  Not feeling so emotional about everything!

What I am looking forward to:  Big ultrasound coming up in a few days!  It is driving me a little crazy to find out boy or girl.

Weekly Wisdom:  ???

Milestones:  I dunno other than being pretty close to the halfway mark.

Symptoms:  Feeling more emotional, including as mentioned before whether baby is a boy or girl.  I think it will be nice when I just KNOW so I can start looking forward to whichever it’s going to be.  As per usual, peeing often.

Details on the midwife visit:  It was a very long visit, which was great!  I never felt rushed.  MIL was keeping Matthew at the house so I didn’t have to worry about him.  We went over family history, my labor/delivery with Matthew (after which she mentioned I was a GREAT candidate for a birth center birth), which tests and so forth we wanted to accept or decline (and I was on the same page as her on pretty much everything as far as what we will and won’t do).  I have to start keeping a food diary (EEP!) which all their patients do, and I remember her mentioning at the tour I went to awhile back that it’s really more for me than it is for them.  Still it has led to much joking with my and David’s family members when I eat something “bad” about whether it’s going in my food diary, haha.  I have only gained a pound and a half so far this pregnancy, so she wants me to eat more protein, 50-60 grams per day.  It was great the way she really encouraged me about it without making me feel bad.  I am really trying harder now to get in snacks and do better on protein now.  All my peestick tests were great and she said she could tell I was drinking plenty of water, so that’s good.  We heard baby on the doppler, the heartbeat ranged from 147-158.  She said it sounded like baby was kicking at the doppler at one point.  She said that I could have a doula if I wanted or that she would be happy to provide labor support if I want her to.  She was a doula and an LC for many years before becoming a midwife and there will be a midwife assistant attending the birth as well.  I glanced at the rooms in the birth center again and felt again like this was the right place to be.  I feel relaxed when I am there.

Matthew filling in with weekly picture.

Leave a Reply

Categories

