Posted by: expectingamiracle | December 4, 2010

Bun in the oven

My early birthday present:

I was pretty surprised about it!

I tested on 11 dpo and got a negative.  I thought oh well, onto medical assistance.  I was pretty bummed and sad about it actually, more so than previous months.  In hindsight, I think it was just a bit too early, or my pee was too dilute or maybe just the dollar tree test was being stupid.  But it was stark white, so I thought I was totally out.

So 12 dpo I started feeling just a little bit weird.  I don’t even know how to describe it,  just different.

13 dpo comes and I have no spotting whatsoever, which is unusual with how recent months have been.  So I decided to test again, just to make sure, thinking it would be another negative.  And I stood there and stared at that test as the 2nd line started showing up.  I believe my words were “no way”.  I quickly dipped another couple pee sticks, including a FRER and it was most certainly positive.  I got Matthew to give me high fives and he was grinning as I told him that mommy was pregnant.

I called my RE’s nurse and she said to come in for bloodwork and to get my progesterone suppositories.  My bloodwork came back that afternoon with hcg of 106 and progesterone of 33.  Great numbers!  I get the hcg checked again on Monday. 

I went and bought some hot dog buns at the grocery store and stuck one in the oven, along with the FRER hidden inside.  I set up the camera to video me telling David.  It didn’t go as planned because he kept wanting to know why I wanted HIM to get something out of the oven and didn’t just get it myself.  And then he guessed, “OH, is there a BUN in the oven?”  Hah.

I am feeling pretty good about this pregnancy.  I worry of course, but the numbers and the darkness of the test and so forth…I think this one is going to stick. 

Due date is August 12.  A summer pregnancy should be interesting!

Responses

  1. WOHOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!

  2. That is wonderful and I’m so happy for your little family.
    Meemaw

  3. Congratulations!! I loved having babies in the summer (both times) because it’s so nice to be able to go out of the house for walks and such when they’re really little without worrying that they’ll get too cold. Plus, going outside sometimes helped when they were really fussy.

  4. Congratulations! Saw the news at LFCA and wanted to be joyful with you!

  5. Congratulations!! Praying for another strong beta on Monday!!!

  6. Congratulations – what a wonderful birthday AND Christmas present!!

    ~x~


Leave a Reply

Categories

