Posted by: expectingamiracle | June 2, 2010

Easy Come, Easy Go

I was moderately sure I was pregnant on Thursday, was sure about it on Friday and by Monday I was bleeding and not pregnant anymore. 

Turns out it was a chemical pregnancy, which, by the way, I hate that term.  I was pregnant, but only for a few short days.  I had my blood drawn Friday morning and my hcg was 15 and my progesterone was 6.  My OB said she was surprised I was able to get a positive on an hpt.  The plan is to give me progesterone next time (in light of my low progesterone with my first loss) but she doesn’t think that was the problem this time.  I’m not inclined to think so either.  I wish I had my progesterone tested when I was pregnant with Matthew.  I took the supplements, but I have no idea if they were actually needed.

Of course, I had already bought Matthew a big brother shirt, of which there are cute stories involving telling my husband and family that I don’t have to heart to write about now.  I don’t regret any of it, as I’d rather celebrate each pregnancy, no matter how long it lasts. 

I was feeling not too horrible about it yesterday, but today I’m sad.  I told my husband in the car the other day, “Nothing ever gets to be easy for us, does it?”  But though it may not be easy (and how much easier could it be than getting pregnant the first month you try!), it is so incredibly worth it.  My mother asked me if I had to, would I do all the things I did to get Matthew all over again  and my answer was “of course I would”.  I still think we’ll get our second baby.  Hopefully it won’t be too much longer.

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry to hear that. It never really gets easier, no matter how many times it happens…

  2. Oh, chemical pregnancies are so sad. It’s great, though, that you celebrate each chance when it comes. Wishing you the best of luck!

  3. I am so sorry. I am glad to hear that you are staying positive and will keep trying. (((HUGS)))


Leave a Reply

Categories

