Posted by: expectingamiracle | November 22, 2009

Mom worry

Things around here have been…stressful as of late, but getting better.  I don’t even really have the energy to re type it all out so I’m going to be lazy and copy and paste what’s been going on from a message board I posted on.

We’ve had problems with mucus in Matthew’s poops off and on since he was born. He has reflux, which he is taking Prevacid for that. I tried cutting out dairy for 2 weeks when he was a month or two old but I didn’t notice a difference so I stopped. We introduced some solids just before he turned 6 months old, rice cereal, oatmeal cereal and butternut squash. At the same time I started eating more nuts and chocolate (around Halloween) which I had previously eaten very little of. After two days of squash he got VERY gassy, waking up every hour or two at night and passing gas. I stopped the solids and cut the nuts and chocolate back out of my diet. After that the gas went away (mostly) but he had several days of green mucusy poops and then just more normal color but still lots of mucus. The pedi checked and there was microscopic blood in his poop. Around this time we also stopped his Prevacid and he started spitting up more but was not fussy about it so I thought it was okay. Then one evening he spit up dried blood, his pedi said he probably retched hard enough that he tore a small blood vessel in his esophagus and to put him back on Prevacid. We did and no more bloody spit up. I have tried probiotics (for me and him), I am block nursing, only one boob for 3-4 hours at a time so I don’t think foremilk/hindmilk imbalance is the problem.

The pedi feels it is something in my diet.  I am now off wheat (or any gluten), dairy and soy . I’m probably getting some trace amounts of soy but no major amounts.  His poops are still almost totally mucus.

This has come and gone ever since he was born though I am a little perplexed as to why it is more consistently there now than when I was consuming whatever I wanted to eat. He used to have at least some good seedy poops but now there is mucus in every poop.
I’m a little discouraged and feeling guilty about the fact that I really want to eat wheat and/or dairy by Thanksgiving, but I don’t know if that’s enough time to give the diet a chance. We’ll be at my in-laws and it’s going to be hard for me to be on such a strict diet.  The diet is really tough for me, I keep obsessing and googling things about food allergies. I am already underweight and have lost even more weight recently because it’s hard to eat enough. I am a fairly picky eater but I am trying to branch out and try to eat healthier.

 He gets fussy but I am pretty sure that it is due to teething and just in general wanting attention and not wanting to play by himself.  He has always gained weight just fine and was 18 lb, 13 oz at his 6 month visit.

Okay now for the next update.  I have put wheat back into my diet but I cut out something that seemed (after perusing my food diary in which I log everything I eat, what his poop is like, how bad his eczema is, if he woke up with gas, etc) to be causing a problem.  And the winner is…..CORN!  Yeah try getting all of THAT out of your diet.  High fructose corn syrup and corn starch are in everything.  I’m still off dairy and soy but I do still end up getting trace amount of soy.  It’s only been two days since I cut corn out but he has slept great the past couple nights, taken great naps the past two mornings AND as we speak he looks to be taking a great afternoon nap.  His poop yesterday wasn’t all mucus for the first time in awhile.  I don’t know if this is the magic bullet but wouldn’t it be awesome if it where?  I’m still going to wait awhile before I try to put dairy and/or soy back in my diet so Thanksgiving will be interesting.  Not sure yet if I will eat the cornbread dressing and test my theory.

I am just stoked that maybe this is going to get better.  This diet sucks but it could be worse and I really really really don’t want to have to give up breastfeeding for a multitude of reasons.  I just don’t want my milk to hurt my boy.

In other news I have a cold AGAIN.  Ugh.  This is the 3rd or 4th one since I’ve had Matthew and I used to only get about one a year.  Somehow having a baby has caused my immune system to go to crap.

I will post more of a fun update on Matthew’s new things he can do soon…he is 7 months old tomorrow!

Responses

  1. I really hope cutting out corn continues to help Matthew!!!! bah on the cold though 😦 if you can take some, zinc is supposed to help the immune system

  2. I hope it is the corn. You are so much more diligent then I am with the food journal. That is a great idea.

    And WOW for 7 months!

    Hope you are doing well this weekend


Leave a Reply

Categories

