Posted by: expectingamiracle | October 22, 2009

Mixed feelings

It was my goal to exclusively breastfeed for 6 months.  I didn’t make it.  I could have.  I just chose not to.

Matthew has been going through a spell where he wakes up at night…often.  I don’t really know why.  He keeps rolling onto his back, then crying.  Then I have to nurse him back to sleep.  Developmental (though he’s been able to roll for a while)?  Hunger?  Teething?  Who knows.

So I had already been feeling like he was ready for solids.  Finally I just said screw it, I am giving him some rice cereal and seeing if it helps.  He was about 6 days shy of being 6 months old when I started.  The first night he only woke once and I was all “Hurrah!  Rice cereal!”  Night two and he was back to waking several times. 

I do think he was ready.  I just feel bad in some ways that I didn’t meet my goal.  I just have to keep telling myself it was only a week.  And I don’t think 6 days “early” really matters.  I certainly don’t always do everything the way I thought I would anyway.  Case in point, the other night I was desperate for sleep so when he woke the first time, I took him downstairs with me, and we co-slept.  I don’t intend to do that every night, but on the nights when he keeps waking and waking?  Yeah.  It still wasn’t great sleep for me because I woke every time he’d even think about moving or anytime he made the slightest of noises.  But still, I was not trudging up and down the stairs.  Co-sleeping is actually do-able now that he isn’t spitting up volumes of milk all the time. 

Anyway, my boy now eats his rice cereal.  I thought I’d be sad about it and I guess I am, just a little.  But ah well, he needs his iron.  And it’s kind of fun to feed it to him.  He’s still my little baby.  And he still loves his booby.

Pictures!

DSCF2654

DSCF2661

DSCF2658

Responses

  1. cute pics!!!! 6 days short…whats the saying “thats close enough for government work!” lol I would say you made your goal pretty much! CONGRATS!

  2. 6 days is nothing! Starting solids is so exciting. Go Matthew!


Leave a Reply

Categories

