Posted by: expectingamiracle | September 23, 2009

5 Months

My baby is 5 months old.  Wow.  It seems like the first couple months went by slowly at the time (hello reflux!) and now they are flying by more quickly.  I seemed to be ready for the newborn days but now I find myself realizing that I have no exersaucer or highchair or little tupperware things to store baby food in once we start solids.  Or baby gates.  My word, we are going to need baby gates!

Matthew at 5 months:  he smiles and laughs easily.  He has never met a stranger and has been told he is a flirt (when he gives a shy smile at someone over my shoulder) and that he is very engaging.  He loves people.  (Are you sure he came from me and David?!)  He loves music and he does NOT love going to sleep.  He is actually driving me a little nuts with this right now.  A lot nuts, some of the time actually.  He can go from happy to screaming pissed off in a matter of seconds.  He is still 100% breastfed (go me!) and I am actually starting to look forward to starting some solids in another month rather than gasping “NOOOO!  Mah baybeeee!”

In honor of my precious little boo bear who loves when I sing to him despite any off key moments: a song I have altered to fit my son.

To the tune of “My Favorite Things” from The Sound of Music.

Talking to daddy and kisses from mommy
When I am full with some milk in my tummy
Grandmas and grandpas and smiles that they bring,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Bouncers and jumpers and soft pooh bear blankies
When I am changed from a diaper that’s stanky
I like to listen when my mommy sings,
These are a few of my favorite things.

Chewing my fingers and rides in my stroller
Lions and footballs and when I roll over
Toys that play music and bright colored rings,
These are a few of my favorite things.

When the milk’s gone
When it’s bedtime
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad.

DSCF2455

Responses

  1. Congrats on 5 months of BFing!!!! GO YOU!
    I like your little song—did you write that?

  2. 5 months! What a handsome devil.

    I am sooo not looking forward to starting solids. It makes me want to cry.


Leave a Reply

Categories

