Posted by: expectingamiracle | September 12, 2009

I have arrived

Milestones are happening, bing bang boom.

We made a trip to my parent’s house for Labor Day weekend.  Matthew was a pretty good traveler, now that he seems to be over his hatred of the carseat. 

He got to meet my dad for the first time and I was seeing my dad for the first time since March.  He is about the same, though there has been a lot going on in the past months.  Perhaps I’ll write more about that sometime.

I couldn’t believe how well Matthew seemed to sleep at the crib at my mom’s house.  Also, the first time we put him in there, he woke up from a nap and flipped onto his back!  His first time rolling over and I missed it!  He’s done it since then, however, so I got to marvel at his new skill.

Once we got back home and I put him back in his bassinet (actually a co-sleeper) he looked huuuge.  Whereas he looks so tiny in the crib.  I decided it was time to bite the bullet and have him start sleeping upstairs in his nursery.  I have been resisting this since our bedroom is downstairs and I hate the idea of having to trek upstairs too often in the middle of the night.  Also I admit to nursing him while browsing the internet, so that means a stop to that practice, at least while trying to get him to  sleep.  Which is probably for the best anyway.  He’s so nosy that me being at the computer is distracting to him and doesn’t help with the falling asleep process.

Baby boo the morning after the big move:

DSCF2420

Tonight is his third night upstairs.  I was so sad when I saw the indentions on my bedroom carpet where the glider used to be (it’s upstairs now).  But according to my mother “Many women have tried to keep their babies small and none have succeeded” and also “You can’t keep squeezing him into that bassinet forever”.  Heh.  Yeah, it was time considering when he would thrash around, the whole bassinet would shake.

Everyone says it about children and I think I say it about once a week.  He’s growing up too fast.

For so long I was waiting…waiting to finish school, waiting to get married, waiting to TTC, waiting to get pregnant, waiting to have the baby.  And now?  I have arrived.  I’m here, right where I want to be.  And it’s going so fast.  I can’t say that “I am loving every minute” because let’s be honest, life is not like that. 

mommymatthew

 

But it is pretty darn close.

Responses

  1. cute picture! Glad you have a nice time at your mom’s.

  2. Totally get you – being mummy is not always easy, but is always rewarding and worth it. Yey for Matthew in his big boy crib!!
    How is he sleeping at night now?

  3. I am so not looking forward to moving him to his crib. Matthew looks like he is growing up in his. I cried watching videos from when Jack as 6 weeks. Time needs to slow down!

    I love the pic of the two of you. I think he really looks like his daddy at this age but also see bits of you in there too.

  4. Oh…my..,.gosh! Where has the time gone! Look at that living doll baby! Just precious!


Leave a Reply

Categories

