Posted by: expectingamiracle | January 28, 2009

Dad Update

He got in to see the neurologist FAST which is awesome. The neurologist said he thinks it is dementia but he wouldn’t classify it as one type or another. He ordered an MRI and a pysch evaluation just to be sure of what’s going on. He has him on Aricept, so we are hoping that helps. If not, he may go on anti-psychotic meds. I know my mom cannot take care of my dad in this state, long term. So I’m hopeful they can get something sorted out so that he is not hearing things and having delusions.
My older brother has been down there with them and will be through tomorrow, which I am SO grateful that he has been there to support and help my mom.

This is still really sucky, but I am feeling like we are going to take this one step at a time. We will figure out something, it just may not be what we hoped for or planned for. I am trusting God that He will take care of us. I can’t worry myself sick, I have to be control my stress levels because my little guy is depending on me.

A little pregnancy update…. I passed my GTT test!  Yay!  No worries about sugar for me.

Also more people are noticing I am pregnant.  I had a neighbor today (from another country) ask if I was waiting.  Took me a moment that she meant, was I expecting.  Heh.  And at work the other day I saw the woman who normally gets me my soup in the cafeteria, who I have not seen in quite a few weeks.  She always remembers me.  So this time she just kept looking from my belly to my face with this shocked looked and finally said, “When did THAT happen?”  LOL.  She was pleased for me and that made me happy.  Apparently everyone loves a pregnant woman.

One more bit of sad news.  I got a call last night saying that Justin’s ashes are ready to be picked up.  I need to do that soon, but first I  wanted to write a note of thanks to the vet for doing what they could for him.  For the past week or so I think I have been avoiding thinking about it too much because it’s just so hard.

Responses

  1. I’ll be keeping your Dad in my thoughts.

    Congratulations on having more people notice the pregnancy. I remember that being really fun!

    I think the note to the vet is a nice idea. I did that too when we had to out down my cat, and I think it helped in my healing process. (The vet actually also sent a note afterwards telling us that we did the right thing – the kind thing – which I think is really a nice gesture.)

  2. Being noticed is so much fun! Big smiles from here!!

  3. Hugs!! I will keep you and your dad in my thoughts and prayers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

