Posted by: expectingamiracle | August 23, 2008

Doing well, still ecstatic

Everything is going well so far.  I saw my RE and got my progesterone suppositories and my hcg level done.  At 12 dpo, it was 99!  A nice strong number.  I won’t be getting a follow up hcg done because I feel like it would only make me worry more.  I guess I am taking the “ignorance is bliss” route this time.  It will not change what we are doing, even if my levels did not double correctly (like last time) I’d still be taking the progesterone and waiting for my ultrasound.  And worrying like crazy.  And if they were good, I think that would only keep my fears away about for a day or two before I started worrying again.

I scheduled my first ultrasound for 6 weeks 5 days although my RE said we should see a heartbeat by 6 weeks.  I just feel better scheduling it later to make sure I’m far enough along to see what we need to.

The waiting is tough…but I felt better once the decisions were made about not getting my hcg levels done again and when to schedule the ultrasound.  I’m just trying to assume that everything will be fine, enjoy my pregnancy and be positive.  I’m sure I will get more nervous as the ultrasound date approaches.  But I told myself before I got pregnant, that no matter what happens, I want to enjoy being pregnant and love my baby just as much as I can.  So far I am doing pretty well with that.  It helps that I am so grateful.  So far each morning I wake up and I am so happy beyond belief, because I remember again that I am pregnant.

You know what a difference a year makes?  Last year when I was told the insurance company might not cover my progesterone, I freaked out a little about the cost (but they did end up covering it).  This year I was told they would NOT cover it.  I didn’t even bat an eye when Walgreens called to tell me.  $144 for 3 weeks of progesterone?  That is less than the cost of one follicle scan at my RE’s office.  $144 is a bargain.  It’s all about perspective, I feel incredibly lucky that we did not have to do anything more invasive than we did to get pregnant again.

A little naseua so far, but nothing too bad.  I actually hope it picks up a little bit so that I know our little sweet pea is doing okay in there.

We’ve told all our close family.  Everyone is super excited for us.  One of the things I regretted with my first pregnancy is that we didn’t tell anyone until I called to tell them I was pregnant and probably losing the baby.  It was wonderful to tell everyone when it was GOOD news this time.

And finally…a picture of my husband and I, the day we found out.

Responses

  1. I am soooooo happy for you Shannon! You and the hubs look so cute and very happy together 🙂

    You sound like you are doing a great job with enjoying your pregnancy, b/c I know from reading others experiences that that can be so hard to do after a loss. I can’t wait to see your bean(s) on your first ultrasound 😀

  2. Either way we sit and worry about our numbers and appointments, so I think you made a great decision to hold off and just enjoy it from the moment you got your BFP!

    I’ll be waiting to hear and see pics of your little sweet pea very soon!

    Congrats again!

  3. Congrats on your little one!!! I know you are so excited and trying not to worry. Good luck at your first sono – sending you good vibes that you see the amazing heartbeat!!

    iclw


Leave a Reply

Categories

