Posted by: expectingamiracle | June 24, 2008

Wassup with my ovaries

I haven’t come up with a name for my RE yet.  Maybe I should call her Dr. Late?  Because I thought when I scheduled a 9:30 a.m. appointment that surely she wouldn’t be too far behind schedule.  But we didn’t see her until 10:30.  Not a problem for me, since I changed my work schedule, but Deer actually needed to get to work.  Ah well.

Anyway, she wasn’t as nice as my OB, Dr. Empathy, but those are some high standards to live up to.

The general idea

1.  My weight is fine.  I am not too underweight.
2.  Deer’s sperm are fine.  She thinks 11% morphology is plenty good, especially with the great other numbers.
3.  I need to have an HSG done (good!)
4.  She’s not big on acupuncture or supplements and what have you.  But says me doing the acupuncture is fine with her, just that she doesn’t encourage or discourage it. 
5.  My bloodwork (as I knew) is fine.

Onto the wanding!  I got wanded for quite awhile.  It actually started to hurt a little, because lady, I am not accustomed to someone being that rough with the ultrasound dildo.  She finishes and I find out why.

Apparently she was having trouble seeing all the parts of my uterus that she wanted to see.  So either I (most likely) have a uterus that tilts to the left or (less likely) I have a unicornuate uterus.  After consulting Dr. Google, I really really hope it is the first one.  She said we’ll know for sure after she does the HSG. 

Then she drops the bombshell and tells me my ovaries look polycystic.  What the heck?!  Totally not expecting that.  Not with my thinness and normal bloodwork and oh so dainty body hair.  But apparently one can have polycystic ovaries without actually having PCOS.  And that is me.  She’s checking my testosterone again just to make sure.  The good news is she did say she could tell I ovulated.  So apparently my ovaries have that right.  I have no clue what exactly the implications are of having the polycystic ovaries, if I am still capable of (and am) ovulating on my own.

Her plan:  Do the HSG.  Start Clomid.  Pay out of pocket for two ultrasounds each cycle (ack!).

So I have answers.  Sort of.  Some of them.  It’s all very weird.  I don’t even know what to think.  Everything shifts and I don’t know what to think my chances are or how much hope to have or how to figure out how much money we should shell out for all of this. 

I wish someone could tell me how it all plays out.  How it all ends.  I just want to skip to  the last page of the book and make sure that’s a happy ending before I read the whole thing.

Responses

  1. uses of acupuncture…

    […] the Element that will mediate the emotional situation. Application of Young Living Essential Oil blends on specific acupuncture sites and how to calculate which points to use in individual emotional states Seminars and classes […]…


Leave a Reply

Categories

