Posted by: expectingamiracle | June 18, 2008

Acupuncture

If, several years ago, you had told me that I would voluntarily be going somewhere and paying someone to stick needles into my body, I would have looked at you with something akin to horror.

And yet, here I am.

There seems to be a dividing line on the subject with people falling into one of two camps:

A. Acupuncture for fertility is mostly a bunch of hoohah.  I tried it and it didn’t work for me.
B. It is the most relaxing thing ever and it helped me get pregnant.  Yay!

I bet you can guess which category I am hoping to fall into.

I had my first appointment and it went well, I think.  There was lots of talking beforehand, discussion of menstrual cycles, looking at my charts and even looking at my tongue.  Acupuncturist Lady said I have time on my side (which is nicer than the usual “You’re so young!” comment that I get from the general public, which yeah, I guess 27 is fairly young, but not as young as I look, which is probably about 18.) and that I haven’t been TTC for an concerningly long time just yet. 

Then she stuck needles in me.  I could feel it when she put them in and then not so much.  I felt pressure on a few of them but it didn’t really hurt.  Then I was left to take deep breathes, listen to some Easterny Ying Yang music and relax for 20 minutes.  It was actually pretty freaky to look down at my body and see a bunch of needles in it.  But I did seem to relax some.  Note to self: Keep eyes closed.  It seemed to make me feel like my whole body was heavy and I was sinking down. 

I went home, ate lunch and then had a wonderfully relaxing, delicious nap.  I dreamed that I visited Acupuncturist Lady again and she told me that all her patients from the year before had gotten pregnant.  And then I asked how many women and she said 300.  And I said, “Wow, that is pretty impressive.”  You think, dream Shannon?

Seriously I woke up feeling good though.  It makes me a little bummed that all my future acupuncture visits are going to be scheduled right before I go into work.  But, it’s necessary, because I’d like to avoid having to drive an extra 60 miles per week.  I will miss out on some prime relaxing nap time though.

Next up:  Re visit next Monday.

P.S. I just killed a big roach in here.  Ugh ugh ugh!  I HATE roaches!  Where did this one come from?  Are there tiny chip crumbs on the floor that it’s feeding on?  Are there more?  Auuugh!

Responses

  1. I wish you the best of luck with your acupuncture treatments. Also, I recommend that you take herbs and ask your acupuncturist about dietary therapy and lifestyle advice. I’m sure if your acupuncturist has helped 300 women get pregnant in the past year (a surprising number at almost 1 a day) that she must be doing these things.

    Also, you may want to have your husband completely checked out for his sperm count, motility, morphology and forward progression. Miscarriage these days is often correlated with reduced sperm quality and I often see this in my practice. It takes about 4-6 months for your follicles to mature before ovulation and about 72 days for new sperm to form, so be patient with yourselves.

    Sending Baby Dust Your Way,

    Amelia Hirota
    Licensed and Board Certified Acupuncturist and Herbalist

  2. I love acupuncture. The sinking down feeling is GOOD. Next time try this visualation

    ‘I am part of the table, I am one with the table’
    and then
    ‘I am part of the room, I am one with the room’

    and keep going until you are one with the world. It’s a great relaxation technique and helps me a lot


Leave a Reply

Categories

