Posted by: expectingamiracle | May 5, 2008

A letter to my future self

Dear Future Me,

I hope you don’t forget me.   I hope that if you stop and think about it, you remember the pain and sorrow.

When you haven’t gotten any sleep to speak of for days because the baby needs you.   When you’re crying because it’s all too much.  Remember me.   Remember how I would do anything for those sleepless nights.  Remember all the tears I cried because my heart ached for a child.

When your baby is whiny or teething or crying for no reason.  When your child is throwing a screaming fit in the grocery store and you’re exasperated beyond belief.  Remember me.  Remember all those months I hoped and prayed for my dream to come true.   Will you please give my dream come true an extra hug and kiss from me?

When there are fights between siblings and unidentified sticky spots on the carpet.  When your child yells “You don’t love me!” out of anger.  Remember me.  Remember and you can tell your child that  you loved them long before they were ever born.

When times are tough and your days feel harder than you think you can handle, I want you to stop and realize how lucky you are.  I hope you never forget this time and never forget what a blessing your child is. 

I hope that you remember me.  And I hope that you are a better mother for it.

Love,
Present Me

Responses

  1. Whew, you don’t realize, but you have given me a HUGE wake up call with this post.
    I WAS the present you and now have 3 beautiful children. I need to remember who I was 7 years ago; because it does get hard to remember some days. Gah, I’m feeling guilty now. I’ll go give each of my kids a big hug and kiss NOW.

    Thank you for you honesty and kicking my butt today. I hope you have a good day today. My wish is that you find some peace in your heart even if its only for a moment or two, today.

    Blessings.

  2. Excellent post, and well heard here. Had a rough morning with Mia, and it is a good reminder for me to remember how hard we struggled to have her.

    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

