Posted by: expectingamiracle | August 17, 2007

A little bit pregnant

Last week I found out I was pregnant.  I took the test early.  Too early.  I thought it was a negative at first, and I scoffed at it.  But then, 5 minutes later, I looked again.  A tiny, faint line.  I promptly freaked out.  I think I wandered around the house for an hour or two doing nothing but walking into various rooms stating “Oh my God.  Oh my God.”  Part disbelief, and part prayer. 

 

I bought the digital.

 

And I freaked out some more.

 I went to Babies R Us and bought a bib that said “I (heart) Daddy”.  The cashier asked me if I was buying off a registry and I smiled as I told her no.  I treasured the secret behind my smile…that finally I was buying something for my own baby.  I wrapped the tests up in the bib and put them in a gift bag.  When I met Deer before we went out of town for the weekend, I gave it to him.  He knew instantly what was up.  He smiled, said “Wow” and kissed me.  And he was nice enough not to say “See?  I told you that you would get pregnant.”  Because, yes, after not getting pregnant that first month, I freaked out and thought I never would.  Because I’m crazy like that.

Deer has been great so far.  I will always laugh when I remember that first night after we found out, lying in bed in his parent’s guest room, about to go to sleep, and he leans over and whispers, “Who’s your baby daddy?”  The jokes about being barefoot and pregnant.  The tummy rubs.

Only two more weeks until my first appointment.  They’re doing an ultrasound to confirm the pregnancy and luckily Deer can make it and just go into work late.  

 I can’t wait.  I’m already plotting out how I will tell my family, friends, co-workers and anyone else who will listen.

Responses

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!

  2. Wow! Congratulations!!!!!!

    I will look forward to reading about your adventures into babydom!

  3. Aw, Shannon, congrats! The tummy rubs are so cool 🙂 Babies are even cooler.

  4. I just stumbled across you blog via Supermom and I wanted to wish you the warmest congrats ever!!! I have an 8 month old and it’s been hands down the best time of my life. You are going to love being a mama!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

