Posted by: expectingamiracle | April 22, 2013

Tomorrow you are 4

Today you are 3.  And somehow, inexplicably, tomorrow, you will be 4.  Another year passed.

It’s so cliche for a mother to lament how quickly her child grows up.  But of course, we all can’t help but do it.

Tomorrow you will be 4.  Who knows what four will bring?  I know that four will bring you a new brother (even though you’re still requesting a sister).  Four will bring you new adventures, new skills, new experiences.  I hope that four brings you more self control, more self awareness, joy and happiness.  I hope that four doesn’t bring any loss of your childhood innocence.

Sometimes it seems like for every new skill you develop; for every new thing you do that makes me proud, I also lose a little bit of that babyness.  It may be learning how to pronounce a word correctly, or the way your body leans up and loses that last bit of baby chub.  So what I ask, dear son of mine, is that as you’re growing up, please don’t grow *too* fast.  Please still hold my hand and pick flowers for me and ask me to sit next to you on the couch.  Because though I love to watch you grow, my mommy heart just can’t take if it happens too quickly.

You are still my little boy.  My wonderful first born that made me a mother and continues to bring me forward into uncharted territory….into stages I’ve never been through and challenges I’ve never experienced. Life has truly never been the same since you entered my world and I am grateful for you, every day.

And tomorrow you will be 4.  So happy last day as a 3 year old, sweetie.  Stay my little boy just a while longer, won’t you?  I love you, my Matthew.

Mommy

Image

Responses

  1. What a handsome young man! Our little guys grow so fast, don’t they? Hope you are doing well!

  2. They are both beautiful boys and I’m sure the baby will be too. I’m so glad to see you blogging again.

    Love,
    Meemaw


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

