Posted by: expectingamiracle | July 23, 2011

35 weeks

How far along?  35 weeks

Baby is the size of a:  honeydew melon

Total weight gain/loss:  Gained 4.5 pounds from last time!  So the 2 I lost, plus an extra 2.5.  Total gain 23 lb.  I’m happy because before I got weighed she said she’d like to see me get to at least 25.  So I think that is certainly do-able and hopefully I can get up to more around 30.

Maternity clothes?  yes, I actually bought a couple new things too.  A dress for maternity pics coming up and a ruched shirt that I must say I look awesome in.  I get the best compliments while preggo!  All my mom friends are telling me I look great and I’m all belly.  And I took Matthew to McD’s the other day for dinner and playtime and had a woman tell her friend “I never looked that cute when I was pregnant”  It helps me ego!  :o)

Sleep:  still trouble falling asleep at night, I think it’s something to do with my legs, like they feel kinda restless I think?  I am getting up to pee super often now too.  If I don’t get a nap each day then I am not a happy woman.

Best moment this week:   Baby shower yesterday!  My mom’s group had one for me and it was a combo pool party for the kids and shower for me.  They had some decorations set up like sailboats since that is my nursery theme.  Little snack holders that looked like boats that said Skippyjon (baby’s nickname) and rice krispy treat sailboats instead of a cake.  Matthew had fun in the pool and even got a little more comfortable in the water wearing his life jacket and floating around and jumping off a small ledge towards me.  I got several baby outfits and then was surprised that I got a Visa gift card for $180!  They all chipped in so we could buy something big that we needed like a double stroller.  Not sure yet what we’ll use it for but we do have several things on our “to buy” list that we still have to get.

Movement:  Still pretty active, every now and then the way he moves will hurt!

Food cravings/aversions:   I really want a fancy cupcake because people on facebook keep talking about them.

Belly Button in or out? Out

What I miss:  Umm, apparently I was a little deluded and have come to my senses after seeing a friend with a toddler and 8 week old.  I was thinking it will be so nice after baby gets here and I don’t have to worry about Matthew jumping on my belly and hurting baby accidentally.  But actually I think it’s going to be MUCH harder once baby is here in person!  I do want to hold baby quite a bit of the time but now I am wondering how that is going to work with Matthew always wanting to climb/crawl all over me!  My friend had the baby’s bouncer up on her kitchen table…which I’m sure was to keep her daughter from messing with him!

What I am looking forward to:   Next week I have maternity pictures and my 36 week midwife visit.

Weekly Wisdom:   Being silly with your toddler really does help make them cooperate!  (Recently I brush his teeth while making up songs to the tune of Elmo’s world and today when he didn’t want to go in his room for a nap I made choo choo sounds and pretended we were a train going in there.  Proud of myself for doing this stuff because it does take more effort than just saying “you have to do XYZ”)

Milestones:  Less than a month till my due date.

Symptoms:   I had a couple super emotional days.  Ugh.  Still wanting to next and worrying about “stuff” getting done.  And I have been getting more of those pains in my upper legs/groin area when baby moves a certain way.

The rest of the details on the midwife visit:  BP 112/62, baby’s heartrate from 132 to 180 bpm, he got super excited moving around in there!  I asked her about giving up dairy and she said to cut back on actual milk but she still wants me to eat yogurt/cheese, etc, because it’s good protein.  Then if baby has issues I will give it up after he arrives.  I asked her several other questions but I don’t really remember right now everything we talked about.  I have a crapload of pills to start taking as I get close to the end and before my next visit we have stuff to fill out on our birth plan.  (Which I guess means I NEED a birth plan!)

 

Responses

  1. I know you don’t know me but I have been reading for a while now and I’m worried something happened. Are you and the baby okay?

    Meemaw

    • Very sweet of you to ask! We are just fine. :o) Baby Michael turns 2 months old tomorrow. I have just been so busy that I haven’t taken the time to blog. I’ll try to get back to it sometime soon.

  2. I understand that and I’m so glad everything is okay. I would love to see pictures of Baby Michael and congratulations.

    Meemaw


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

